Jogging Experience #2

Today it was bitter cold and snowing. At times like this, people with any sense know to stay inside and keep warm. Priding myself on having some sense, I texted my jogging partner to reschedule our jaunt for another day.

She showed up, on schedule and ready to go. I ran outside, grumbling and shivering. She was all smiles and goodness. Bless. I had promised myself that I would show some pride and not do the crawling and wailing scenario again. I felt sure about my resolve until the wind peeled me back like a facelift gone wrong. The tears started rolling and to make matters even worse, they froze on my face. My nose started running and yes, I did care how that made me look.

We chugged along, me gasping for breath, her moving as if she was doing something less strenuous than drinking a cup of tea. When she asked, “Isn’t this weather wonderful?” is when I realized that my jogging partner was a cyborg. A patient, kind one with a gentle voice, but nevertheless, a jogging cyborg.

We had pre-planned doing six laps for our second session. After running three, maybe four laps, she announced in her sweet, non-threatening voice. “That’s two.” Whoa, Nelly. I’m pretty sure I can count. I had icicles piercing my skin, a white head of snow and frostbitten ears. Enough was enough! Once I’d finished setting the jogging world right, she said in her patient, kind way (imagine that you hear her voice) “No. It was two.”

We ran. She counted. It snowed. I froze. It was beautiful.

